Reality Bites After a Long Vacation

So I’m back trying to find another job for after the Mary Day. Getting into the rhythm of job searching and internship doing has been especially difficult after two weeks of vacation, one in Maine and the other in Connecticut. While I was technically doing internship work during both of those weeks, and was doing freelance work while in Maine, it was definitely different doing such work in another place. Being back home makes the reality that I really have no idea what I’m doing come October seem all the more threatening.

But beyond that. I promised pictures of Maine!

I should preface the pictures from Acadia National Park with the following story:

I went up to Maine to visit my boyfriend last year too. It was beautiful, but I was only there for the weekend. As my luck is always impeccable, the day we reserved to go up to Acadia National Park last year was a drizzly, foggy, rainy mess, where you could only see about 20 feet in front of you. The view from the top of Cadillac Mountain that year was more of a view of a mountain top surrounded by cloud. Surreal and pretty in its own way, but not exactly the view we were going for.

So this year, with some more flexibility of when we could ascend the mountain, we decided that we’d grab the nicest day that we could in order to get an amazing view of the coast of Maine. We almost didn’t get this chance: the first day that we had initially planned to go it rained all morning, preventing any desire to drive the hour there and the hour back. So we took our chance the following Tuesday, and viola! The masterpiece of nature lies below.

041

048

045

077

I was a little bit obsessed with this boat and house. I won’t show you all of the pictures I took. It’s kind of interesting, though, that there are private houses scattered in Acadia. This is because Acadia is actually a compilation of donated pieces of land from private properties. Who would have known?

Needless to say, we had a great time. The weather held out wonderfully, and I had the opportunity to indulge in seafood and (separately) BLUEBERRY SODA.

Yes. BLUEBERRY SODA.

I know, sounds weird, but it’s absolutely delicious, and as of yet I’ve only managed to find it in this one ice cream shop in Bar Harbor: Jordan Pond Ice Cream. At least, I think that’s what the place is called. For the life of me, I can’t remember the name of the brewing company right now, except for that it’s something painfully obvious, and this soda is delicious. Seriously. I’m ashamed of myself for not taking a picture. The soda is on the sweet side, for those of you out there that aren’t into that, but it’s highly recommended.

To top everything off, it didn’t start raining until we got back in the car. Therein was our saving grace, because once it started raining, it POURED. There were times where we could only see 20 feet in front of us, if we were lucky. Scary.

There were other adventures had while in Maine, but those can be left for another time. But as a parting gift…

Lobsta!

Lobsta!

This entry was posted in Adventure, Job Search, Travel, Vacation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

