Whoops

I yelled at my internship boss today, via Skype. Not a good move. At the same time, I’m not surprised. If a boss calls you or something you did “stupid”, and you are already having communication failures…

Well, I think that I deserve and reserve the right to be upset.

What’s worse is that this is an unpaid internship. It’s not as though he is paying me for my mistakes, or really losing money off of them. Interns makes mistakes. Sorry?

It doesn’t help that the requirements and expectations seem to shift for this internship every time I log in. So guess who ends up on the chopping block? Frustration.

I’m still in the wrong. I know this. You should never start yelling at anyone who is your boss, in any capacity. But I think that after a flood of criticism, most of which I felt was undeserved, and then to be told that I was acting stupidly…I blew a mental gasket.

I’m not stupid. I don’t think that I’ve ever been called stupid. So to have someone I have never even truly met even kind of sort of call me stupid…well, I didn’t like it.

Hopefully tomorrow will be better. I will learn from the mistakes I have made through this internship, I will learn how to hold my tongue, and I will be the best damn worker this man has ever seen, to the point where he will be blown away. I dearly hope.

The things we do in order to gain some damn experience in a competitive job market. Oy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

