A Push Forward on Bucket List #7 and Wish List #1

I understand that it’s been some time since I’ve written. Forgive me, oh great large internet audience that I have (queue awkward silence).  But the exciting news is that YES, I did get that internship I was interviewing for, and YES, OH GOD FINALLY YES, I do have a job! Admittedly, this job doesn’t start until August, and it only goes until October, so very shortly I will be right back in the same position I am in now, but I’ve chosen to ignore that part.

Of more interest is that this new job of which I speak is on a sailboat. In particular, on the Schooner Mary Day off of the coast of Maine. EXCITEMENT!

Namely because this wonderful opportunity will hopefully/definitely help me on the the path to accomplishing Bucket List Goal #7 and Wish List Goal #1: namely, to learn how to sail a large sailboat (WL #1), and to eventually be able to sail across the Atlantic Ocean. Baby steps people, baby steps.

And depending on how you look at this excellent opportunity, it is indeed a baby step. I’ve been hired for the position of Assistant Cook on board of the Mary Day, helping to prepare meals for the passengers and crew. Luckily though, due to the nature of the crew organization of the ship, I get to still help out with the boat aspects, and if I desire, learn how to sail this 90-foot long boat of beauty. My question would be: why in the world would I not want to learn?

frontvertical160

And here she is, the Schooner Mary Day! Taken from the website.

Maybe I feel this way because I’ve always been attached to the ocean. Or any body of water, really. My father figure loves to retell the story of one time when we went to the beach and I asked him if I could go in, only up to my ankles, I swore. He acquiesced, which was a bad idea from the get-go. Next thing he knew, I was paddling around in the cold, March ocean, smiling as I dove in and out of the waves. Maybe I was an idiot that time. I get over it. But in some sort of capacity, bodies of water, the ocean in particular, seem to call to me, and always put me more at ease. Is there anything better than staring out into the ocean, or across a river, or across a lake? A sense of peace is able to descent upon you and make you think outside of yourself, calming your breath and putting a smile on your face. You can listen to the crash of the waves, follow the ebb of the tide or the ripples of the water, and lose yourself in its simplicity.

39888_426830615479_148489_n

It’s not the ocean , but it has its own beauty and simplicity. Or so I believe.

 

I’ve been told that I think too much.

This is probably true.

But I get over that too.

 

Needless to say, I’m excited. Still nervous about what to do with my life afterwards, but I have a feeling that something will come along at some point. Now I just need to heavily confirm the start date for my next adventure.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

